End of the century

I’m writing this from a very comfortable bed in Cambridge. Do I have to leave it? Really? My alarm’s not gone off yet so I’m safe for a few minutes at least.

My legs definitely have some new aches and pains they didn’t have yesterday. But, I did it! The longest ride of the tour is in the bag. 106 miles, further by 11 miles than I’ve ever cycled in a day before.

To celebrate, here’s some music…

It might actually have been a nice ride, the flat roads once in Cambridgeshire should have given me a bit of a break, but no.

The wind, the wind the wind the wind the WIND!

Have I mentioned the wind? Feck, it was relentless, and for most of the ride pretty much IN MY FACE!

The last 45 miles were just brutal, a constant slog, like endleslly climbing a hill.

Still, me being a silly sod, if I’d had that as a tail wind (oh that would have been nice) I’d have somehow felt like I cheated! At least this way I know I’ve done an epic challenge, and got through.

By the skin of my teeth mind, I’d left extra early, hitting the road at 7.30am because I knew it might be tight getting into Cambridge for the gig, in the end I arrived at 6.20pm, the gig having already started.

Sorry to the performers who I couldn’t quite pay attention to, I was focussing on standing, and cramming cake and hot chocolate in my gob. Thanks to my friends for looking after me, you bunch of feeders.

I then quickly got changed and before I knew it I was performing. Quite a surreal experience so soon after the ride. I was still writing down my haiku as I was being announced.

Thanks to everyone who came, it was lovely to see you all, old faces and new faces. We raised a good chunk of money for Centre 33. Fay did tell me how much but my brain has spat out the figure. Twas over £100 though.

Massive thanks to Fay for organising, and the Espresso Library for allowing us to use the venue.

So, a relatively short distance into London today, but with a very tired body and the wind still playing up I’m not sure it’ll be the easy run in I’d hoped for.

Can’t wait for the gig though, it’s gonna be great. Please come along if you’re anywhere near.

My alarm’s gone off now…. bugger. Not long to go now though before I can have a lie in.

It’s definitely not too late to sponsor me, and it’s all going to fantastic causes, any and all donations really appreciated.

badge9

Leave a comment